Kankakee Co., IL

This is a county list solely for the discussion of all things related to the history and genealogy of Kankakee Co. and the people who made it what it is today. An act of the Illinois Legislature created Kankakee County out of the north part of Iroquois County and the south part of Will County in February 1853. The six original townships were Yellowhead, Rockville, Bourbonnais, Momence, Aroma Park, and Limestone. The population of the new county was about 8,000. In 1855 the two western townships (Norton and Essex) were taken from Vermilion County and added to Kankakee County. The County was named for the Kankakee River. Its county seat is Kankakee.

To contact the list owners, use the following email address: ilkankak-owner@rootsweb.com

To see the prior postings to this list, visit the archives.

Subscription / Unsubscription

To subscribe or unsubscribe from this list, please log in first. If you have not previously logged in, you may need to set up an account with the appropriate email address.

Log In

You can also subscribe without creating an account. If you wish to to so, please use the form below.